SAVETHESLOTH THIS WEEK (2)

challengelogo.jpg

every monday morning, a “savethesloth this week” challenge will be posted here. we’re asking our community to step out of comfort zones, and begin the process of having eyes opened to people, needs, issues, and ideas. the goal is that we would be a generation that is fully awake to the things God has created us to be…and we hope these simple tasks and challenges will stretch each of us. leave comments as you engage yourself in these challenges.

SAVETHESLOTH THIS WEEK:
PRACTICE GENUINE GRATITUDE. EVERY DAY OF THIS WEEK, WRITE OR CALL AN INFLUENCIAL PERSON IN YOUR LIFE TO EXPRESS GRATITUDE AND THANKS.

Read Colossians 3:12-17:
So, as those who have been chosen of God, holy and beloved, put on a heart of compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience; bearing with one another, and forgiving each other, whoever has a complaint against anyone; just as the Lord forgave you, so also should you. Beyond all these things put on love, which is the perfect bond of unity. Let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, to which indeed you were called in one body; and be thankful. Let the word of Christ richly dwell within you, with all wisdom teaching and admonishing one another with psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, singing with thankfulness in your hearts to God. Whatever you do in word or deed, do all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks through Him to God the Father.

Gratitude is a lost discipline. the dictionary describes gratitude as “appreciation for benefits recieved.” it’s sometimes the first to go out the window in our busy, chaotic and hectic life. generally speaking, we are an ungrateful culture; we are consumed with ourselves, our needs, and our desires. we tend to be quick to notice all the things we don’t have…and all the areas we’re lacking in (whether they be financial, relational, spiritual, and/or physical issues.) however, at any given moment we are standing in a current of immense benefits recieved.

this week, take notice of the people around you that are deeply benefiting your life. There are men and women around each of us that are being used by God to build us, encourage us, and edify us. Scripture brings to the table this principle: when we genuinely express gratitude to those around us, we are in fact bringing honor and delight to God. in other words, we can authenticate our gratitude to God by expressing it to the ones around us.

there are easily seven people in your life that deserve your thanks and appreciation. write a letter, send an email, or pick up the phone and express your genuine gratitude to this person. it could be a pastor/minister, friend, author (may be harder to find contact info…but you can do it!), teacher, parent, etc. seven days…seven people.

begin to shift your thinking from all that you don’t have…to all that you do have.

(sidenotes: short emails with no thought defeat the purpose of this! don’t cheat…spend time each day really expressing deep, genuine gratitude to these people. go into detail and elaborate on your thankfulness. also, as you engage these challenges, post your comments on savethesloth.com. it’s essential for our community to learn from each other’s experiences.)

5 Comments »

  1. Erick Bauman Said:

    As a church planter for 20- and 30- somethings, this is something that deeply resonates. We have intentionally spent 9 months detoxing christians to live externally focused for those around them. We call it the Missional Heart Tour. We also have simplified the concepts to one sentence, which you might like –

    we consistently strive to live sent in the daily context of life by personifying the Gospel to all people.

    I would love to dialogue at length with you. Check out my blog, and feel free to email me.

    BE the CHURCH,

    Erick

  2. Jamie Said:

    Well I must say that I played catch up today on this one. I wrote two letters throughout the week, and then got sidetracked and wrote the rest today. I did think about people all week though, so I think that counts for something.

    Another thing though … last week the challenge was to engage in someone’s life that serves you. I loved this one and hope that my actions will always do this now. Just this week I was at Subway and the two men behind me NEVER looked up from their BlackBerry’s. They just ordered and demanded what they wanted (especially when they didn’t like the lettuce she picked out!) without ever awknoledging the nice girl making his food. How rude! Who do these guys think they are?

    I immediately thought about the challenge from last week and was EXTRA nice to the lady as she checked me out b/c I knew she would get no love from the two men behind me.

    Come on people. Think about someone besides yourself.

  3. Guy Said:

    Well I think I will continue with this one even tho it is over now. While talking with the guys about how so many youth pastors we encounter don’t stay in one church for very long (many times a year or less) I immediately thought about the youth pastor I had years ago as a teenager and how he poured his life into all of us at that church over many years. I called him last week and let him know just how much I appreciated his obedience and the consistent love and mentoring he poured into all of our lives at that church those many years. I hadn’t talked with him in a while and had no idea that he had been going thru a tough time lately at the church he now pastors. typical things that many churches go thru had been getting to him the last couple of weeks and, well, depressing him. My calling him and just loving on him with gratitude towards his faithfulness really lifted his spirits. He said he really needed to hear those words this week and he believed my call was a divine appointment. Wow! This challenge has taught me the power some kind, and genuine words of love and gratefulness can have on someone. To be obedient to God when he urges us to show love and appreciation.

  4. Tracy Said:

    I’m a little behind on this challenge but was able to get one note written. That note was to my boss. I think most times in the workplace we take things for granted and we think we “deserve” the benefits given to us. I took this chance to tell my boss… thank you for allowing me the opportunity to work for your company, thank you for a generous salary and for the benefits you provide for my family and I, thank you for all the kind words that are spoken that let me know that I am appreciated, thank you for genuinely caring about me and my family, etc…
    My boss was extremely touched by the note, so much that he is keeping it in his safe at home. You never know how something as simple as a note of gratitude will affect someones life. Go ahead, try it!

  5. Maximus Said:

    I would like to see a continuation of the topic


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

