SAVETHESLOTH THIS WEEK (3)

challengelogo.jpg

every monday morning, a “savethesloth this week” challenge will be posted here. we’re asking our community to step out of comfort zones, and begin the process of having eyes opened to people, needs, issues, and ideas. the goal is that we would be a generation that is fully awake to the things God has created us to be…and we hope these simple tasks and challenges will stretch each of us. leave comments as you engage yourself in these challenges.

SAVETHESLOTH THIS WEEK:
GIVE AWAY. GO THROUGH YOUR CLOSET AND GIVE AWAY ALL THE CLOTHES THAT YOU HAVEN’T WORN IN A LONG TIME. TAKE THEM TO A LOCAL HOMELESS SHELTER, MISSION, OR CLOTHING MINISTRY (OR SOMEONE YOU KNOW THAT PERSONALLY NEEDS THEM).

We live in excess. We consume too much, we own too much, and we keep things that we are no longer using. In each of our communities there are people in dire need of the things that we have. Look around…notice things in your closet, garage, house, yard…notice things that you don’t need…and give them to people that are in need.

In every city there are local missions and shelters that are always needing items. What are you able to give away this week? Let’s dialogue…

5 Comments »

  1. ginger Said:

    i just moved and, during the glorious process, realized exactly how much excessive stuff i own. i found a box of blankets that hadn’t been opened since my LAST move and thought about how many needy people could have really used those over the winter.

    the lord has been teaching me how to simplify my life, and this was yet another way for me to put what i’ve been learning into action. as i packed boxes in preparation to move, i sorted through the necessities and the excess.

    i took about 3 car loads to a local donation center.

    aaaaaaaaand. my move was much lighter. 🙂

  2. Reagan Pugh Said:

    Dude, this is the test. We talk like we can let go of our desires to control things or judge people. But can we let go of our material posessions? I’m in France right now, I’ll be in Madrid tomorrow. I’m really feeling like my journal, my pen, my bible, my book by John Graves and my few clothes are good enough to survive for the next 6 weeks.

    Shouldn’t I give the rest away?

    Thanks for the nudge fellas. I love you and miss you from Europe.

    Reagan

  3. Good challenge. I want to give what I don’t use. Even some clothes that I do use! I really don’t need them all…

    You guys rock. Save the sloth!!!

    Amen

  4. aaron Said:

    we had a garage sale at our house to get rid of some of our excess. we asked our friends to donate some of their excess to the garage sale. then, we took all the money we got from the sale and gave it to our friends that are desperately trying to raise $15,000 for an international adoption. we raised $500. it doesn’t seem like it puts a dent in their massive need, but what a fulfilling thing to give them all of the cash we got from our excess.

  5. BUSH Said:

    i have always been a packrat. i have things from a couple of years ago that i think i can maybe wear again. i have shirts that don’t fit, and i keep saying that they are motivation for me to lose weight so that i can wear them again. my motivation for losing weight should be something more than a shirt, and that is another blog entry for myself. but these clothes could serve such a better purpose for someone who really needs them. this week is a time of cleaning out the closet. what a great challenge.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

